Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


State Highway 16 (SH16), known as the Northwestern Motorway, starts at the intersection of Quay Street and Tamaki Drive, in central Auckland and ends at the Brigham Creek roundabout, in Waitakere City.

Key interchanges include (east to west):

  • Newton Road
  • St Lukes Road
  • Great North Road

​Key interchanges include (south to north):

  • Rosebank Road
  • Patiki Road
  • Te Atatu Road
  • Lincoln Road
  • Royal Road
  • Hobsonville Road
  • Brigham Creek

A range of improvements are planned for the Northwestern Motorway between St Lukes and Westgate. Improvements are focused on improving safety, supporting economic growth and upgrading provision for walking, cycling and public transport.

Timing of construction will depend on the completion of statutory processes. Construction will be coordinated with the completion of the SH20 Waterview section of the Western Ring Route.